On Monday, Senate President Godswill Akpabio revealed the chairpersons of the standing committees within the 10th red chamber. This announcement followed the conclusion of the upper legislative chamber’s screening process for the 48 ministerial nominees recommended by President Bola Tinubu for confirmation.

Out of the nominees, 45 received confirmation, while the senate is awaiting security clearance for the remaining three individuals: Nasir el-Rufai, former governor of Kaduna; Danlandi Abubakar from Taraba; and Stella Okotete from Delta.

Among the notable chairpersons appointed for various committees are Ahmad Lawan, former senate president (defense); and Abdulaziz Yari, former governor of Zamfara (water resources).

Other appointments include Aminu Tambuwal (housing); Adams Oshiomhole (interior); Godiya Akwashiki (airforce); Buhari Abdul-Fata (aviation); Osita Izunaso (capital market); Cyril Fasuyi (establishment); Seriake Dickson (ecology/climate change); Jide Ipisagba (petroleum downstream); Aliyu Wadada (public accounts); Shehu Kaka (special duties); Patrick Ndubueze (works); Solomon Adeola (appropriations); Musa Sani (finance); Abiru Tokunbo (banking); and Adeyemi Adaramodu (media).

The newly appointed chairpersons also encompass Isa Jubril (customs); Elisha Abbo (culture and tourism); Victor Umeh (diaspora); Lawal Usman (education); Akintunde Yunus (environment); Ibrahim Bomai (FCT); Sani Abubakar (foreign affairs); Banigo Harry (health); Enyinaya Abaribe (power); and Aliyu Wamakko (local and foreign debts).

Further inclusions consist of Adamu Aliero (land transport); Daniel Olugbenga (navy); Barinada Mpigi (Niger Delta); Mohammed Monguno (judiciary); Yemi Adaramodu (youths and sports); Ireti Kingigbe (women affairs); Orji Kalu (privatization); Mustapha Sabiu (agriculture); Aliyu Bilbis (communications); and Asuquo Ekpenyong (NDDC).

In July, Akpabio designated certain senators to chair special committees within the senate. The formation of these panels adheres to the senate’s standing rules, which outline the establishment of both special and standing committees.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here