The Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, has sworn in 19 new Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs), charging them to ensure strict compliance with the law.

Speaking at the ceremony held on Thursday, Yakubu said they must ensure transparency and non-partisanship in their conduct.

The INEC chairman said: “Furthermore, you will also interact with various stakeholders. You should maintain the established practice of consultation with them.

“However, in dealing with the general public, you should be guided by the provisions of the commission’s Code of Conduct.

“You should not be visitors to government houses and must never hold unofficial meetings with politicians, even after official working hours.

“All matters pertaining to official responsibilities should be conducted in the office attended by the relevant staff and properly documented. This is your best protection against mischief. Do not compromise the neutrality of the Commission or create the perception of partisanship.”

Yakubu stated that the only means for voter accreditation in the 2023 general election was the Bimodal Voter Accreditation System (BVAS), adding that results will be uploaded to the INEC Results Viewing Portal (IReV) in real-time on Election Day as provided by law.

The new RECs included Uzochukwu Chijioke – Abia; Nuru Yunusa – Adamawa; Queen Elizabeth Agu – Anambra; Mohammed Nura – Bauchi; Samuel Egwu – Benue; Yomere Oritsemolebi – Cross River; Onyeka Ugochi – Ebonyi; and Obo Effanga – Edo.

Others were Ayobami Salami – Ekiti; Umar Ibrahim – Gombe; Sylvia Agu – Imo; Muhammad Bashar – Jigawa; Abdu Zango – Kano; Yahaya Ibrahim – Kastina; Ahmed Garki – Niger; Agboke Olaleke – Osun; Agundu Tersoo – Plateau’ Nura Ali – Sokoto; and Ibrahim Abdullahi – Yobe.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here