Tajudeen Abbas, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, has conducted a reshuffle of committee chairpersons in response to the ministerial appointment of Yusuf Sununu, a legislator representing Kebbi state.

President Bola Tinubu officially designated Sununu as the Minister of State for Education on Wednesday.

Back on July 27, Speaker Abbas had unveiled the names of lawmakers chosen to head 134 standing committees within the legislative body.

In light of Sununu’s new role, the Speaker, on Thursday, announced a reorganization of committee leadership positions.

In a statement, Abbas remarked, “In light of the nomination of certain members of the 10th House of Representatives as Honourable Ministers by His Excellency, President Bola Ahmed Tinubu, and the subsequent vacancies in leadership positions of some standing committees of the House, it is with pleasure that I reveal the selection of the following lawmakers to fill these vacant roles.”

ALSO READ: Insecurity Preventing Northern Children From Immunisation – Sultan

He further clarified that these appointments would take effect immediately, with the official legislative records being updated upon the House’s resumption from recess.

Dennis Idahosa, a legislator hailing from Edo state, is set to take over the role of Chairman of the Committee on Healthcare Services, succeeding Yusuf Sununu.

Emmanuel Ukpong-Udo, representing Akwa Ibom, will assume the position of Chairman of the Electronic and Digital Banking Committee, succeeding Idahosa.

Bukar Talba, a representative from Borno, will ascend to the position of Chairman of the Institutional Reforms Committee, formerly held by Emmanuel Ukpong-Udo.

Pascal Agbodike, representing Anambra state, will be stepping into the role of Chairperson of the Hydrological Services Committee, taking over from Mamudu Abdullahi, a legislator from Niger state. Abdullahi, in turn, has been appointed to serve as the Chairperson of the House Committee on Army.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here